NCFE Award, Level 2 (Broadly comparable to SCQF Level 5)


Flexible start dates throughout 21/22




  • Care


  • Online

Why take this course?

This qualification is for learners aged 16 and above, and aims to increase your knowledge and understanding of practices in the care of individuals with dementia. It does not infer competence in a work role, but can be used as professional development for those who wish to gain knowledge in this specialist area of practice. The qualification is accredited by the NCFE — a national awarding organisation. For more information please visit the NCFE website.

What you will experience

Throughout the course you will build a good understanding of dementia, promoting the application of person centred principles to everyday care activities. Units are as follows:

  • Unit 1: Dementia awareness
  • Unit 2: The person centred approach to the care and support of individuals with dementia
  • Unit 3: Understand equality, diversity and inclusion in dementia care
  • Unit 4: Understand the factors that can influence communication and integration with individuals who have dementia.

You are required to complete all four units to gain certification. Course work will be internally and externally moderated.