Time to Shine 2023 winners announced

December 22, 2023

As part of this year’s Sparkle Winter Festival, students and staff were invited to nominate their colleagues, classmates, lecturers and support staff for a Time to Shine Award. The Awards were established in 2020 as a way to recognise those from within the NESCol community who have had positive impact on the lives of others. In 2023, we celebrate our fourth set of worthy winners.

This year’s submissions were full of inspiring stories about our staff and students – people who had given up their own time for others or gone above and beyond expectations – and the panel had a very difficult job on their hands.

Pippa Ferguson

HND 3D Animation (Aberdeen City Campus)

Dedicated student Pippa Ferguson was nominated for her willingness to go above and beyond the demands of her course. She volunteered during the recent Open Day and also took charge of the 3D Animation stall during the College’s winter festival. On nominating her for the award, Pippa’s lecturer said, “She consistently supports her peers, ensuring they take breaks, eat and stay hydrated while in class. She also actively participates in various societies across the college and her fantastic networking skills mean that she has successfully encouraged people to apply for animation courses at NESCol. Her proactive and driven nature makes her a reliable and dependable individual, both for myself and her peers.”

On receiving the award, Pippa said, “I want to say thank you my lecturer, classmates and the NESCol Students’ Association for nominating me, they are all amazing people that are very supportive. Other people’s wellbeing and making sure that everyone feels included is the most important thing to me so having the opportunity to do this in NESCol has meant a lot to me. I know the challenges that a lot of the students at NESCol are facing so being able to help has been amazing and I would encourage everyone to take some time and do the same. I’m really looking forward to seeing what next year has in store.”

Inspire team in Dino’s Cafe (Aberdeen City Campus)

Lisa, Marie and Sarah received a number of nominations which all highlighted their friendliness and efficiency.  They are clearly highly thought of by everyone at City Campus and make a significant contribution to the experience of both staff and students. One member of staff said, “All three ladies do an absolutely fantastic job during very busy spells throughout the day and always ask how we are, chat with us and go above and beyond with any requests.” Another said, “They bring a human touch of kindness and humour as they remember what your drink is and ensure happy customers. Thank you Lisa, Sarah and Marie for making a difference.”

Those selected by the judging panel as winners were informed during the Sparkle Winter Festival. Lisa said, “It was really nice to get the email saying we’d won. It made us feel a bit emotional.” Marie said, “It was a bit of a shock but definitely gave us a boost.” Lisa added, “We already know we have the best customers and it is lovely to have been nominated by some of them!”

Coby Keith

HND Sport Coaching & Development (Aberdeen City Campus)

Coby has 100% college attendance and a great attitude towards learning. He was nominated by his lecturer because he takes his learning back to his local community by supporting and working at a variety of initiatives including: an athletics club at Scotstown Primary School; a disability athletic club for both young children and adults aged 50+; his local athletics club, AAAC; and coaching at Skene Square with Active Schools. His passion for sport and coaching make him a very worthy winner of this award.