Student achievements recognised in Go Celebrate! ceremony

June 16, 2023

NESCol students have been recognised for their achievements at the annual Go Celebrate! Awards ceremony.

Hosted at the college’s City Campus, the event included four categories open to all in addition to the presentation of two subject specific prizes and the Grampian Motor Training Trust awards.

Students and their guests joined together with staff to mark the occasion.

Neil Cowie, NESCol Principal, and Robin McGregor, Vice Principal Curriculum and Quality, led the ceremony and paid tribute to the efforts of all students in the 2022/23 session.

Neil Cowie said: “The way students have embraced this year has been truly energising. 2022/23 marked a return to normality after several years of restrictions and disruptions and there has been a real drive to make the most of that.

“Our campuses are a hive of activity at the moment with coursework being completed and a host of fantastic events and end of year shows in the diary.

“All of our students and all of those recognised in the Go Celebrate! Awards, including the many who were nominated, should take enormous pride in their achievements.”

In the four Go Celebrate! categories a judging panel comprising curriculum representatives and support staff as well as representatives from the NESCol Students’ Association and Regional Board was tasked with selecting the highly commended and winning students. The remaining awards were determined by curriculum staff who have worked closely with students in their chosen subject.

Go Excel!

This award recognises a student who has excelled at College in the current academic year by achieving a high level of attainment, showing aptitude and in-depth understanding of course content as well as its wider application and by engaging with College life.

Award winner: Abigail Underwood.

Highly commended: Carol McIntosh.

Go Innovate! The Kathy Horne Award for Enterprise and Innovation

The criteria for this category includes embracing new technology and concepts, inspiring students and staff with a focus on future opportunities and demonstrating a passion for enterprise through ideas with the potential to capture the imagination of peers and the public.

Award winner: Callum Gibb.

Highly Commended: A group of second year HND Sports Coaching and Development students.

Go Make a Difference!

This category recognises some of the qualities that are so important inside and outside of campus and is open to those who support others to work towards shared goals or who participate in voluntary work. Most importantly it celebrates individuals and groups who represent the College in a positive way.

Award winner: Zoey Filianore Wynters.

Highly commended: Catherine Hill.

Go You!

This again recognises qualities in students, with the criteria including commitment to studies and an enthusiastic attitude to learning and personal development. Demonstrating resilience in the face of adversity is also a major part of the Go You! award.

Award winner: Edita Butkeviciute.

Highly commended: Gareth O’Hara and Anna Keller.

The Amanda Mills Memorial Award

Presented annually in memory of student Amanda Mills, the award dedicated in her honour recognises outstanding achievement in HND Social Sciences.

Award winner: Robyn Blacklaw.

NESCol Local History Award

Recognising excellence in local history, the award was instigated by the Aberdeen History Society and celebrates the work of students in specific projects or pieces of work.

Award winner: Ruta Siniauskaite.

Grampian Motor Training Trust Awards

The GMTT Awards are presented each year by the trust in recognition of excellence in the automotive sphere and cover specific elements of the courses delivered at the Aberdeen Altens and Fraserburgh Campuses through the apprenticeship programmes that support the industry in the North East.

Apprentice of the Year Award for Body and Paint: Kieran Hamilton.

Apprentice of the Year Award for Light Vehicle Maintenance at Altens: William Wilkie.

Apprentice of the Year Award for Light Vehicle Maintenance at Fraserburgh: Ritchie Matthew.