Aberdeen Awards ceremonies

October 21, 2019

This week saw over 300 students receive certificates of congratulations at our Aberdeen Awards ceremonies, supported by friends, family, and lecturers. The ceremonies, held over two days on 8 and 9 October, took place in the Doubletree by Hilton (Aberdeen Treetops Hotel).

Since its inception 25 years ago, the Graduation Ceremony has been a very important date in the College diary.  It’s a day which is primarily a celebration of endeavour, achievement and success, but it is also an opportunity to pay tribute to the many partners, families and friends who have supported our students throughout the duration of their studies.

Principal Liz McIntyre said:

“Our graduation ceremonies are a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the success of our hard-working and dedicated students.  Through their own great efforts and hugely supported by our professional team of staff, our new graduates are already well on the way to the next stage of their exciting journey.

“Many will have gained employment where they are able to demonstrate their skills and expertise and many will have chosen to continue to study at University.

“The skills and talents that our graduates offer are a significant benefit to the social and economic development of our region and wherever life takes them in the future we wish them every success.  Every graduate should feel incredibly proud on the occasion of their graduation, they are a credit to themselves and the College is very proud to have been part of their success.”

At each of the four ceremonies, NESCol was delighted to welcome a guest speaker:

  • Edel Harris, Chief Executive of Cornerstone, who received a Fellowship Award
  • Steve Petrie, Chair of Developing the Young Workforce North East and Business Development Lead, Balfour Beattie
  • Scott Matthew, Director of IT and Digital at Robert Gordon University
  • Abha Maheshwari, Consultant Gynaecologist, Specialist in Reproductive Medicine, Director of Aberdeen Fertility Services, and a member of our Regional Board