Student achievements recognised in Go Celebrate! ceremony

June 17, 2022

NESCol students have been recognised for their achievements at the annual Go Celebrate! awards ceremony.

Hosted at the City Campus, the event included five categories open to all in addition to the presentation of two subject specific prizes and the Grampian Motor Training Trust awards.

Students and their guests joined together with staff as well as Regional Board and Students’ Association representatives to mark the occasion.

Neil Cowie, NESCol Principal, and Robin McGregor, Vice Principal Curriculum and Quality, led the ceremony and paid tribute to the efforts of all students in the 2021/22 session.

Neil Cowie said: “When we began the academic year there was still great uncertainty about the direction of travel as we navigated the pandemic as a country and as an institution, restrictions remained very much part of daily life.

“For students there were extra hurdles to overcome and, as we look forward with great optimism to the new session starting this summer and a year free of those constraints, I think it’s important to pay tribute to the fortitude and can-do spirit that our class of 22 have demonstrated in abundance. They have done themselves and NESCol very proud.

“All of our students and all of those recognised in the Go Celebrate! awards, including the many who were nominated, should take enormous pride in their achievements.”

In the five Go Celebrate! categories a judging panel comprising curriculum representatives and support staff as well as representatives from the NESCol Students’ Association and Regional Board was tasked with selecting the highly commended and winning students. The remaining awards were determined by curriculum staff who have worked closely with students in their chosen subject.

Go Excel!

This award recognises a student who has excelled at College in the current academic year by achieving a high level of attainment, showing aptitude and in-depth understanding of course content as well as its wider application and by engaging with College life.

Award winner: Lily Smith.

Highly commended: Liona Harris.

Go Green!

This is an award that recognises those who promote the ethos of environmental and social sustainability, serve as ambassadors for the College’s green ambitions and help students and staff to make informed decisions about the way all of our actions impact on the environment.

Award winner: Ewelina Mzurek.

Go Innovate! The Kathy Horne Award for Enterprise and Innovation

The criteria for this category includes embracing new technology and concepts, inspiring students and staff with a focus on future opportunities and demonstrating a passion for enterprise through ideas with the potential to capture the imagination of peers and the public.

Award winner: Jamie Williamson.

Highly Commended: Mazen Khalifa and Kinga Kloskowska.

Go Make a Difference!

This category recognises some of the qualities that are so important inside and outside of campus and is open to those who support others to work towards shared goals or who participate in voluntary work. Most importantly it celebrates individuals and groups who represent the College in a positive way.

Award winner: Victoria Grover.

Highly commended: Learning Opportunities groups from Fraserburgh Campus and Aberdeen City Campus.

Go You!

This again recognises qualities in students, with the criteria including commitment to studies and an enthusiastic attitude to learning and personal development. Demonstrating resilience in the face of adversity is also a major part of the Go You! award.

Award winner: Connar Duncan.

Highly commended: George Hitchcock and Robert Laverty.

The Amanda Mills Memorial Award

Presented annually in memory of student Amanda Mills, the award dedicated in her honour recognises outstanding achievement in HND Social Sciences.

Award winner: Ash Paddy.

NESCol Local History Award

Recognising excellence in local history, the award was instigated by the Aberdeen History Society and celebrates the work of students in specific projects or pieces of work.

2022 award winner: Callum Robertson.

2021 award winner: Aruzhan Webster.

Grampian Motor Training Trust Awards

The GMTT Awards are presented each year by the trust in recognition of excellence in the automotive sphere and cover specific elements of the courses delivered at the Aberdeen Altens and Fraserburgh Campuses through the apprenticeship programmes that support the industry in the North East.

Apprentice of the Year Award for Body and Paint: Daniel Sutherland, of Kemnay Autobody.

Apprentice of the Year Award for Light Vehicle Maintenance at Altens: Josh Filson, of Church Street Garage.

Apprentice of the Year Award for Light Vehicle Maintenance at Fraserburgh: Kyle Aiken, of Mercedes Benz Aberdeen.