ICDL Essentials Award, Level 1 (SCQF Level 4)


12 weeks


17 Sep 2024




  • Business & Management
  • Computing


  • Aberdeen City Campus

Why take this course?

The European Computer Driving Licence has recently rebranded and is known as the International Certification of Digital Literacy – ICDL for short.

It is the internationally recognised qualification for computer users, and is widely recognised by employers as proof of ability and competence when working with IT.

This course introduces you to core IT user skills and applications used in many businesses around the world.

Please note that ICDL has been split into two separate levels, ICDL Essentials and ICDL Core, to make it more achievable.

The qualification is designed to give you a beginners overview of using computers, including internet and email. The course is useful if:

  • You want to develop a basic understanding of using IT systems;
  • You are considering further learning in IT or a subject where basic IT skills are required;
  • You are employed and want to prove to your employer that you can use IT systems safely and efficiently;
  • You are employed and want to develop your existing skills for career progression;
  • You are unemployed and would like to develop your IT user skills to help improve your prospects of getting a job;
  • You are looking for formal recognition of your IT skills and knowledge;
  • You want to prove your competence with a certificate from a leading professional body for IT.

What you will experience

You will complete three units from the ITQ framework for this qualification:

  1. Using Email and Using the Internet
  2. IT Security for Users
  3. IT User Fundamentals

Topics covered include:

  • How to use a computer safely and securely;
  • Understanding the importance of data security, and identifying common data/privacy protection, retention and control principles;
  • Understanding network concepts and connection options and be able to connect to a network;
  • Understanding key concepts of file management, be able to efficiently organise files and folders, and use utility software to compress and extract large files;
  • How to search effectively for online information and critically evaluate web content.

To achieve the qualification you must pass 3 tests, which can be taken in any order. These are administered throughout Europe by accredited Test Centres, and each test takes 45 minutes. North East Scotland College has been approved by the BCS as an Accredited Test Centre. The course fees cover the cost of one attempt at each of the assessments, which must be taken at the College’s Assessment Centre.

The modules offer invaluable and transferable skills for individuals seeking employment, or advancement in posts where office IT skills are required. ECDLis recognised and valued in workplaces all over the world. Employers regard it as the international benchmark in IT user competence and meets the growing requirements for evidence of digital literacy from employers.