National Unit (SCQF Level 4)


  • Care

Why take this course?

Child Development is a mandatory unit from the National 4 Early Education & Childcare (Skills for Work) qualification. Candidates can complete Child Development as a stand-alone unit, or upon completion of this unit and another three units from the qualification (four units to be achieved) they can achieve the National 4 Award.

What you will experience

This Unit is designed to introduce candidates to aspects of child development and the key milestones of development for children aged 0–12 years. Building on this knowledge they will, working as part of a group, investigate one aspect of child development in detail. They will present their findings and review and evaluate both the investigative process and the presentation.

Entry Requirements

Entry to this course is at the discretion of the College. However, learners would normally be expected to have attained the skills, knowledge and understanding required by the following or equivalent qualifications and/or experience:

  • Learners should be working at SCQF Level 4 when undertaking these units, particularly in English or Communications.
  • In terms of prior learning and experience, relevant experiences and outcomes may also provide an appropriate basis for doing this course.