Fellowship Award caps memorable Fraserburgh graduation ceremony

September 25, 2022

The presentation of an honorary North East Scotland College Fellowship Award was one of the highlights of a day of celebration as the first of NESCol’s 2022 graduation ceremonies took place.

Saturday’s (24 September) event, hosted at the Fraserburgh Campus, brought more than 300 members of the College community together.

It was the first of five ceremonies taking place, with the remaining four being staged in Aberdeen across 4 and 5 October as the Music Hall plays host to those who attended the City and Altens campuses.

At the Fraserburgh ceremony Ann Bell MBE was installed as a Fellow, an award recognising an individual’s significant contribution to the College and the region.

Ann served as a board member of Banff and Buchan College and went on to fulfil the same role following the creation of NESCol in 2013. She also served as Vice Chair of the Regional Board.

The councillor for the Fraserburgh and District ward of Aberdeenshire Council, who is a member of the local authority’s Education and Children’s Services Committee, played a key role in improving North Sea safety as a training professional with Grampian Regional Council and is also a passionate advocate of sustainability in the North Sea.

She was awarded an MBE in 2003 for her services to the fishing industry, having established and managed a range of key partnerships. Those included managing the North East Scotland Fisheries Development Partnership and the North Sea Commission Fisheries Partnership as well as serving as director of the North Sea Regional Advisory Council (NSRAC) and chair of Inter RAC group.

Well known for her charity work, Ann is a former Chair of Riding for the Disabled, Chair of the Crimond Medical Centre Equipment Fund and has twice served as President of the Rotary Club of Fraserburgh.

NESCol Principal Neil Cowie said: “Ann has been intrinsic to the success of North East Scotland College.

“The knowledge, vast experience and understanding that Ann brought to those roles goes without saying. What is more difficult to quantify but just as evident to all those who have had the pleasure of working alongside her is the energy and the absolute resolve that she has had to make NESCol the best it can be and to ensure every student that passes through the door has the best possible chance to succeed.

“I speak on behalf of everyone connected with NESCol when I express our sincere gratitude for all that Ann has brought to the College and will continue to bring in her new honorary role.”

Ann received her award on the same day her grandson, Sean Bell, graduated with an HND in Software Development to make it a family occasion.

The new Fellow said: “It was a true honour to accept the Fellowship Award and I look forward to serving as an ambassador for NESCol as the College continues to do such valuable work in the communities it serves.

“The dedication of the students and staff is an inspiration and it was fantastic to be part of such a wonderful celebration. The success of students always come first and it was extra special this year to see Sean graduate, as a family we’re incredibly proud of his achievements.”

Saturday’s ceremony was hosted by Fiona Stalker, of BBC Scotland, and included a guest speech by Ryan Crighton, Director of Policy and Marketing at the Aberdeen and Grampian Chamber of Commerce.

The pandemic interrupted the proud traditions of the College in recent years and the ceremony in Fraserburgh included students who completed their qualifications in 2020, 2021 and 2022.

Principal Neil Cowie added: “Our virtual graduation ceremonies last year were very well received and an innovative solution in incredibly challenging circumstances. To return to in person events is another welcome symbol of the return to normality and to a far more familiar NESCol experience.

“These are occasions that bring our graduands, guests, award sponsors and staff together for celebrations that are extra special because of what they represent.

“Those who have completed their studies with us in recent years have done so in circumstances that nobody could have predicted and deserve enormous praise for their resilience and determination.”

Fraserburgh Graduation Ceremony

Business and Creative Professions

HNC Accounting

Bozhidar Atanasov, Fraserburgh

HND Art and Design

Alison Bird, Fraserburgh

Angela Duthie, Rosehearty

HNC Business

Rachel Mulraney, Turriff

HND Business

Aiden Urquhart, Fraserburgh

Tegan Ward, Rosehearty

Care, Education and Social Sciences

HNC Childhood Practice

Renata Chliaoutaki, Rothienorman

Julia Chojnacka, Fraserburgh

Amy Christie, Banff

Kathryn Christie, Banff

Caitlin Greenwood, Turriff

Aleksandra Ignaczak, Fraserburgh

Niomi Lawrence, Fraserburgh

Caitlin Milne, Turriff

Elaine Ritchie, Banff

Ellie Rollo, Fraserburgh

Emilie Ross, Strichen

Patrycja Zwarycz, Peterhead

HND Social Sciences

Emmie Argo, New Deer

Ashton Greig, Portsoy

Isla Jack, Boyndie

Kristen McAlinden, Rosehearty

Leanne Park, St. Fergus

Kristina Robinson, Fraserburgh

Chloe Slater, Gardenstown

Natalia Zytko, Fraserburgh

Computing and Engineering Technologies

HNC Computing

Aimie Grant, Inverallochy

Dawn-Maree Wilson, Sandhaven

HND Computing: Software Development

Sean Bell, Fraserburgh

Andrew Gray, Cruden Bay

HNC Electrical Engineering

Brandon Buchan, Peterhead

Kane Dunbar, Huntly

HNC Electrical and HNC Mechanical Engineering (Shell)

Stephanie Fenty, Turriff

Olga Kozak, New Pitsligo

Sophie Mardon, St. Katherines

Rebecca Munro, Fraserburgh

HNC Mechanical Engineering

Aaron Buchan, Peterhead

Matthew Clacher, Peterhead

Cameron Dey, Tarves

Ryan Downie, Fraserburgh

Bryce Fraser, Fraserburgh

Sean Henderson, Fraserburgh

Leon Lynch, Fraserburgh

Steven Noble, Fraserburgh

Craig Robertson, Ellon

Gregor Robertson, Maud

Dylan Smith, Ellon

Ryan-Lee Wilson, Peterhead

HND Mechanical Engineering

Greig Johnston, Rothienorman

Liam Joss, Peterhead

Construction, Engineering Skills, Automotive and Science

HNC Engineering Practice

Louis Antonio, Peterhead

Ewan Bloomfield, Maud

Lewis Brown, St Fergus

Nicola Burnett, Fraserburgh

Laura Cordiner, Peterhead

Daniel De Freitas, New Deer

Jack Garden, Inverallochy

Robbie Junor, Mintlaw

Ben Mackie, Peterhead

Ross Meredith, Strichen

Andrew Milne, Ellon

Izaac Morrison, Fraserburgh

Keir Napier, Inverurie

Aaron Ritchie, Fraserburgh

Jake Ritchie, St Fergus

Barry Ross, Turriff

Kieran Scott, Longside

Kyle Skinner, Boyndlie

Josh Stephen, Fraserburgh

Nathan Stephen, Fraserburgh

Rebekka Sutherland, Peterhead

Adam Taylor, Turriff

Ryan Thomson, Auchmacoy

Callum Watson, Peterhead

Aidan Wells, Longside

Hospitality and Leisure

HNC Soft Tissue Therapy

Eve Begg, Lumsden

Matthew Edwards, Cornhill

Lucy Forman, Fraserburgh

Amy Munro, Fraserburgh

Karen Watson, Mintlaw

Scottish Maritime Academy

HNC Nautical Science

Arran McGee, Peterhead

Peter Oliphant, Inverugie