NESCol celebrates talent without limits

March 6, 2020

Scottish Apprenticeship Week 2020 was celebrated in style at NESCol this week with over 150 people – modern apprentices, employers, friends and family – coming together from across the region for the annual Modern Apprenticeship Presentation and Awards ceremony at Fraserburgh Campus. The event was sponsored by Moray East Offshore Windfarm.

The College remains one of the largest training providers for modern apprentices in the region with close to 400 active programmes currently across Engineering, Automotive, Care, Business and Administration, Management, Freight Logistics, Warehousing and Hairdressing.

Robin McGregor, Vice Principal NESCol said: “It has become clear speaking with the many modern apprentices here today that it is the unique blend of work-based learning with College support that is so attractive to them.

“This vocational route allows trainees to progress within their chosen career as they learn the fundamentals and develop the skills of their trade. The employer and College staff play a crucial role in the modern apprentice’s success and we are delighted to formally recognise and celebrate the achievements of all involved today.”

Sarah McNaughton from Flowline Specialists in Oldmeldrum and Leanne Brown from Sparrows Group, Bridge of Don were the guest speakers at the event – each sharing their unique experiences of their own modern apprenticeship journey.

Now in its second year, NESCol’s Apprentice of The Year awards were also announced. The awards are designed to acknowledge apprentices who have demonstrated excellence in their learning journey. College assessors and lecturers were asked to nominate modern apprentices who fulfilled this criteria and a judging panel then shortlisted the nominations down to two per award.

The award results:

Apprentice of the Year – Agency Partner (Construction / Electrical)

  • Scott Fraser, Dennis Gordon Electrical, Fraserburgh
Runner Up
  • Kieran Laing, SIR Joinery Balmedie

Apprentice of the Year – Business

  • Lewis Gordon, Instock Group, Dyce
Runner Up
  • Rebecca Thomson, Dr Grays’ Hospital, Elgin

Apprentice of the Year – Engineering

  • Maureen Morgan, Sparrows Group, Bridge of Don
Runner Up
  • Emma Craig, LNER, Aberdeen

Apprentice of the Year – Service

  • Charlene McDonald, Aberdeenshire Health and Social Care Partnership, Fraserburgh
Runner Up
  • Paige Dixon, Tugz Salon, Fraserburgh

In addition to the Apprentice of the Year Awards, the Ian Corney Engineering Award for Mechanical Engineering was awarded to Gregor Forsyth, Thistle Marine, Peterhead. This memorial award acknowledges the talent, dedication and commitment of all those apprentices currently undertaking a mechanical engineering apprenticeship. Specifically, the award commends students who have displayed effort, determination and improved performance through their studies.