SCQF Level 7


Flexible start date




  • Business & Management


  • Online

Why take this course?

This is a Unit within the Professional Development Award and HNC/HND Administration & Information Technology course, but is also included within other HN Group Awards and can be taken as a stand-alone Unit. It has been designed to develop the knowledge and skills required of an administrator, in order to meet the requirements of the administrative function of an organisation. The overall aim is to prepare you for further study or employment in an administrative or IT environment.

Credit points and level: 1 HN credits at SCQF level 7: (8 SCQF credit points at SCQF level 7)

What you will experience

This Unit has four outcomes, all of which will help you to develop the knowledge and skills required to work within an administrative environment:

In Outcome 1, you will learn about the core activities in relation to the role of the office administrator and you will learn how to evaluate and improve current working practices.

Outcome 2 will equip you with the knowledge and skills required to deal effectively with work-related stress. You will learn how to identify the causes of stress and you will gain an understanding of how to cope and adopt strategies for dealing with work related stress.

In Outcome 3 you will learn about the importance of effective communication and customer care. This outcome will also require you to evaluate a current system and a procedure, and design a new system and a procedure, in order to improve customer care within an organisation.

In Outcome 4 you will be introduced to the legislative requirements pertaining to the current office environment. You will be required to identify the key responsibilities from both an employee and employer’s perspective under current health and safety legislation. You will also gain an insight into current legislation within the context of employment and equality and diversity.

In order to complete this Unit successfully, you will be required to achieve a satisfactory level of performance in all four pieces of assessed work.