SCQF Level 5


Flexible start date




  • Business & Management
  • Computing


  • Online

Why take this course?

The European Computer Driving Licence has recently rebranded and is known as the International Certification of Digital Literacy – ICDL for short.

It is the internationally recognised qualification for computer users, and is widely recognised by employers as proof of ability and competence when working with IT.

It is a benchmark qualification in computing, and the essential IT skills you will develop will help to boost your confidence and efficiency – they may even help you to get a new job. To gain the ICDL qualification, you must pass 7 tests, which may be taken in any order. The seven tests cover the seven modules of the ICDL Syllabus. These are administered throughout Europe by accredited Test Centres, and each test takes 45 minutes. North East College College has been approved by the BCS as an Accredited Test Centre.

The ICDL modules offer invaluable and transferable skills for individuals seeking employment, or advancement in posts where office IT skills are required. Over the last few yew years, ECDL has been the fastest growing IT user qualification in over 125 countries, and is renowned as one of the most cost effective ways for businesses to develop and accredit computer skills in their workforce.  For more detailed information of the syllabus, including the aims and objectives of each module, please refer to the ICDL Website.

What you will experience

The  ICDL is a Level 2 qualification (QCF) – roughly equivalent to Level 5 in Scotland (SCQF).  With Office 2016 and Windows 7 training comes a whole new user interface and its appearance carries a sleek and modern look and feel, helping you to work more efficiently and effectively with a new set of powerful tools for creating, managing, analyzing, and sharing information. This course has been specifically designed to cover the key concepts of computing, as well as the practical use of the latest office PC applications. It will improve your understanding of computers whilst promoting efficient use of software, and is broken down into these seven modules:

  • Using the Computer and Managing Files
  • Word Processing (Using MS Word)
  • Spreadsheets (Using MS Excel)
  • Using Databases (Using MS Access)
  • Presentation(Using MS PowerPoint)
  • Web Browsing and Communication (Using e-mails and the Internet etc)
  • IT Security